Kayla Hicks - Author Kayla Hicks - Author
The Backup Superhero Cover Image

The Backup Superhero

Book 1 of The Backup Superhero Series

By Kayla Hicks

"A quick read, this fun superhero story is perfect for fans of The Boys, Marvel, and DC." - Melissa Rose Rogers.

"A fascinating new way of looking at the superhero genre from the perspective of the lower tier characters (think Rose and Thorn instead of Superman) and what it's like to be at the lesser-known end of the heroic spectrum throws in a whole new mystery to keep you hooked!" - Steve Vimes.


If you had the chance to be a superhero, would you? Even if you were a backup superhero, doing all of the work and getting none of the credit?

Becoming a superhero isn’t all that it’s cracked up to be. Let’s be realistic, people don’t have superpowers. But if you have enough determination to make it through training, you have a chance to be the modern-day superhero, stopping one criminal at a time…or doing everyone else’s job and getting none of the credit.

After Tanser girl comes to terms with her non-celebrity level status in the superhero world, someone else from Level D decides it’s their moment to shine, shaking up the entire system, while leaving her to pick up the pieces.

Order On

Tough-as-nails Tanser Girl has worked hard to get where she is - a Backup Superhero. The public didn't get the memo in the superhero caste system - when Tanser Girl and another Level D superhero receive accolades, a sinister hierarchy threatens her and her friend. As Tanser Girl unravels the plot, she uncovers deep corruption. One of the things I like best about this superhero world is that there are zero super powers, so it requires no suspension of disbelief. We're thrust into this world and it doesn't require elaborate backstories or explanations. With no farfetched science or wacky mysticism, it's easy to get down to business. Being a visual person, I love the author's descriptions and vivid use of setting and colors. A quick read, this fun superhero story is perfect for fans of The Boys, Marvel, and DC. This is a clean story that doesn't use sex or romance to drive the plot. There wasn't enough cursing to make an impression on me, so I think it has very little if any. I deeply appreciate that Tanser Girl is competent. The conflict of this story isn't reliant upon the main character being incompetent. Tanser Girl is the captain of her fate and pushes through with sheer grit. I look forward to the next stories in this series.

Other Books In The Backup Superhero Series

Kayla Hicks Profile Image
  • Kayla Hicks

    You can find Hicks outdoors with her husband and daughter, her nose in a good book, or playing video games. Some of her favorite books include Under the Never Sky, 28 and a Half Wishes, and anything by Colleen Hoover. Writing however is her greatest passion and has been since high school. Hicks is also the author of Kale Stone: An Outliers Tale available on Amazon.You can find Hicks outdoors with her husband and daughter, her nose in a good book, or playing video games. Some of her favorite books include Under the Never Sky, 28 and a Half Wishes, and anything by Colleen Hoover. Writing however is her greatest passion and has been since high school. Hicks is also the author of Kale Stone: An Outliers Tale available on Amazon.